Steve Jordan Lighthouse Award

Steve Jordan Lighthouse Award

Steve Jordan’s work was a mission of the heart. He extolled the virtues of integrity, compassion, loyalty and had an uncanny ability to build consensus among diverse groups.

An announcement from The Secretary of DHHS read:

“As the state moves forward in its efforts to build a strong network of community-based and community-accessible mental health, developmental disabilities and substance abuse services, we felt an imperative need to seek out a new generation of leadership for MH/DD/SAS services with strong roots in local services.”

Steve Jordan was among those selected.

Jordan served as the director of the North Carolina Division of MH/DD/SA Services; as state director for ResCare–North Carolina and for North Carolina MENTOR, organizations  that  support  persons  with intellectual and developmental disabilities, mental illness or substance use needs.

Steve served as President of the North Carolina Providers Council in 2010.

The Steve Jordan Lighthouse Award honors a person who has made an extraordinary contribution to the I/DD, Mental Health and/or Substance Use Disorder systems in North Carolina. We look for nominees whose leadership practices reflect the virtues that Steve Jordan espoused throughout his life and career. Honorees demonstrate efforts to build a strong network of community-based and community accessible I/DD, MI, SUD services in North Carolina.

Each nominee must:

Exemplify a life of devoted service, integrity and character that honors the memory of Steven L. Jordan;

Have made a significant contribution to improving the quality of services for people and their families; and

Have served on a state or national board or steering committee that strived to create positive systems change.

The statewide award is presented at the North Carolina Providers Council Annual Conference.


  • 2012  Dawn Allen, GHA Autism Supports
  • 2013  Paul Hackmann, Skill Creations
  • 2014  Nelson Dollar, NC Legislature
  • 2015  Mike Mayer, Community Resource Alliance
  • 2016  Sam Hedrick, RHA
  • 2017  Gordon Simmons, RHA &  Janet Breeding, DMH/DD/SAS
  • 2018  Bob Hedrick, NC Providers Council
  • 2019  Regina Moody, Holy Angels
  • 2022  Josh Dobson, NC Commissioner of Labor and former NC General Assembly House Member